Monday, Nov 2, 2020
The New York State Department of Labor (NYSDOL) has issued guidance on the implementation of the New York State Paid Sick Leave Law. The law took effect on September 30, 2020, but the benefit cannot be used by employees until January 1, 2021. This is not the same as New York's COVID-19 Sick Leave Law, which is a completely different benefit, limited to COVID-19 situations.
If an employer has 0-4 employees and a net income of $1 million or less in the previous tax year, the employer is required to provide up to 40 hours of unpaid sick leave per calendar year. If an employer has 0-4 employees and a net income of greater than $1 million in the previous tax year, the employer is required to provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per calendar year. Requirements vary based on the number of employees and net income.
Click the link below for more detailed information: